Saturday, April 25, 2009

fish bladders

NPR is outstanding for several reasons, and "Wait Wait... Don't Tell Me!" for its random trivia tidbits, in particular. Today I learned that vegans can't drink Guinness. . . fish bladders are used in the brewing process. Vegans are not supposed to eat any product culled from animals (like meat), but in the strictest sense nothing that uses animals (fish included). They like to pontificate about the virtues of eating this way, and while I agree with the environmental impact concerns, the rest . . . meh.

I could go on and on, and so could they - and they do when one doesn't budge from being a omnivore. Alex and I actually eat more like Flexitarians. Veggies are delicious, but so is bacon. Honey is a great sweetener that I refuse to give up, and gummy bears a tasty, low-fat candy. Let's just agree to disagree Vegans of the Pacific NW. I'll have my Guinness, and you can ingest whatever cocktail quells your bizarre guilt for being higher in the food chain than a guppy.